Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction

Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction, 1978

Too low to display

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, 1976

The winner of a Pulitzer Prize receives a $10,000 US award along with a certificate acknowledging the achievement. The Public Service award is given to newspapers, not individuals, although a specific journalist may be recognized in the text of the citation, and the newspaper receives a Pulitzer medal cast in gold with an image of Pulitzer's face on one side, and a hand-operated on the other.

Typically, newspapers nominate themselves for Pulitzer Prizes by submitting the relevant material along with an entry form. In order to qualify, the newspaper must be published in the United States at least once a week, but the journalist submitted for the prize need not be American. Competitors in the music and literature categories likewise submit their own entries, which include copies of the work that they are nominating.

Pulitzer Prize for Criticism, 1975

  • History - Pulitzer Prize Finalists
  • Pulitzer Prize for History, 1974

    Reporter Alexandra Berzon, from left, Deputy Managing Editor Drex Heikes and other Las Vegas Sun employees gather April 20 as Managing Editor Michael J. Kelley, center, talks about the paper’s winning the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service for stories about construction workers’ deaths on the Strip.

    The Las Vegas Sun on Monday won the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service, journalism's most prestigious award, for its investigation of construction deaths on the Las Vegas Strip and the failures of government, management and labor unions to protect workers. Judges singled out Sun staff writer Alexandra Berzon for "courageous reporting" in persevering against closed doors and intimidation.